So, today, I’ve been to the Harry Potter studios in Leavesden with my family – and yes, it was magical. If you haven’t been already, I’d highly recommend going, (but maybe get there at half 8 like us unless you fancy spending half your time there stationary) because even if you’re not the biggest of fans, it really is just incredible. And, being interested in the writing side of things myself, from the very beginning a quote of hers at the entrance of the studios struck me – it read “No story lives unless someone wants to listen”. What an inspiring woman – I reckon she’d make a good role model for my writing when I’m older. But to see all the sets, all the costumes and props, despite perhaps taking away from the mystery of how the films could be so ‘out of this world’, it just proved how much work and effort was actually put into those films. How many people were involved. So if you do go, grab a butterbeer (tastes like butterscotch, if you’re not a fan I’d get one anyway just to be able to say you’ve tried one), take lots of pictures on the world-famous platform and with various moving broomsticks and objects (don’t ask questions, just accept that this is apparently possible in real life too), and have a great three hours celebrating the childhood icon that is Harry Potter.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I think I’m going to go and get myself a hot chocolate and put my feet up in front of where it all began – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.